The Recommendations Process for Sections Congress 2020 Went Virtual

Find recordings and materials from the SC2020 Virtual Recommendations Event in the IEEE Center for Leadership Excellence

In an effort to continue forward with the recommendation process for this year, the 2020 Recommendation Process was held virtually. The event consisted of two sessions, held on 1 September and 15 September. The event focused on the recommendation process and voting. It also included additional content related sessions and activities.

Recordings and materials from the two sessions are available in the IEEE Center for Leadership Excellence (CLE): Please note, you may be prompted to log in with your IEEE account first.

Sections Congress Top 3 Recommendations

SC2020 Recommendation 4

Recommendation 10

SC2020 Recommendation 8

SC Recommendation Badge


Top Three SC2017 recommendations

2. Develop an incentive program for corporations to join IEEE as 'Corporate Member'.

5. Develop (or expand existing) training programs and/or create partnerships with external organizations to allow members to provide  STEM activities to pre-college students. Provide 'canned' or 'in a box' style demonstrations and presentations that local Sections can deliver to pre-college students. Re-evaluate a 'Junior IEEE' membership program targeted at pre-college students.

16. Strengthen and recognize Industry/Academia/Government Collaboration/Partnerships

  • Create a Section Award for Industry/Academia/Volunteer collaboration
  • Organize multidisciplinary Industry/Academia/Government events focused on 'hot' issues
  • Develop a public communications platform to develop projects and share results

Create a 'dating' platform to communicate industry issues searching for solutions and possible 'applications' of research results.

2017 Sections Congress Region Coordinators:

  • Region 1 - Charles Rubenstein
  • Region 2 - Joseph Kalasky
  • Region 3 - Thomas Habetler
  • Region 4 - Praveen Kumar
  • Region 5 - John Reinert
  • Region 6 - Elizabeth Johnston
  • Region 7 - Ashafaq (Kash) Husain
  • Region 8 - Marko Delimar
  • Region 9 - Norberto Lerendegui 
  • Region 10-Stefan Mozar 


2017 Sections Congress 2017 Committee members:

  • Vaughan Clarkson (R10), Chair
  • Magdalena Salazar Palma (R8), Past Chair
  • Vin Piuri (R8), Program Committee Chair
  • Stefan Mozar (R10),Local Organizing Committee Chair
  • Edhem (Eddie) Custovic (R10), Fundraising Committee Chair
  • Ramakrishna Kappagantu (R10), 2015-2016 R10 Director
  • Kukjin Chun (R10), 2017-2018 R10 Director
  • Lawrence Wong (R10), 2016 VP-MGA
  • Martin Bastiaans (R8), MGA Geo Unit Operations Committee Chair
  • Rakesh Kumar – TA appointed representative
  • Cecelia Jankowski, MGA Secretary
  • Cheryl Sinauskas, MGA Staff  

Exhibitors list

  • IEEE Day 2017
  • IEEE Information Technology (IT)
  • IEEE Computer Society (CS)
  • Melbourne Convention Bureau (MCB)
  • Arinex
  • IEEE Potentials
  • IEEE Young Professionals
  • IEEE Educational Activities (EA)
  • IEEE Vehicular Technology Society (VTS)
  • BridgeClimb Sydney
  • IEEE Division VI
  • IEEE.Tv
  • IEEE Consumer Electronics Society
  • IEEE Contact Center
  • IEEE Fellows
  • IEEE Industy Applications Society (IAS)
  • IEEE Author Center
  • IEEE Region 10: Asia-Pacific
  • IEEE Membership Development
  • IEEE Signal Processing Society (SPS)
  • IEEE 2017 TAB Ad Hoc on IEEE at the North & South Poles
  • IEEE Netsuite
  • Business Events Canada (BEC)
  • IEEE Corporate Communications & Brand Marketing
  • Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre (MCEC)
  • Travel Portland
  • IEEE Women in Engineering (WIE)
  • Business Events Sydney
  • IEEE Meetings, Conferences, and Events (MCE)
  • IEEE Humanitarian and Philanthropic Opportunities Pavilion
  • IEEE Technical Activities (TA)
  • IEEE Member abd Geographic Activities (MGA)
  • IEEE Standards Association (SA)

COVID-19 Update

With regret we are unable to hold the face to face Sections Congress this year to ensure the health and safety of all of our volunteers. We look most forward to seeing all of you in 2023 for the next face to face Sections Congress! In an effort to continue forward with the recommendation process for this year, the MGA Board of Directors approved conducting the 2020 Recommendation Process virtually. We will be evaluating additional virtual events to be held throughout the year to provide training opportunities.

- SC2020 Committee

Sections Congress Virtual Training 2021

Sections Congress is going virtual! Save the date to attend Sections Congress Virtual Training 2021:

Save the Date SC Virtual Training 2021

Registration will open in March - stay tuned.


Sections Congress 2020 Virtual Recommendations Event

The SC2020 Virtual Recommendations Event was a series of two sessions held on 1 September and 15 September and focused on the recommendations process. Recordings and materials from the event are available in the IEEE Center for Leadership Excellence (CLE).

Click the banner below to see the top 3 recommendations from Sections Congress 2020:

SC2020 Virtual Recommendations Event

Thank you!

Thank you everyone who attended the SC2020 Virtual Recommendations Event! Click the link below to see the attendees who participated in the photo op at the end of Session 2:

View Gallery

IMG 5268



Theme and Program Tracks

The SC2020 theme is “Leading our Global Technical Community”. The three program tracks are:

  • Training Volunteers
  • Building Communities
  • Advancing Technology for Humanity


Committee and Region Coordinators

Region 1 - Charles Rubenstein

Region 2 - Felicia Harlow

Region 3 - Kristen Bing

Region 4 - Mike Fallenstein

Region 5 - John Reinert

Region 6 - Elizabeth Johnson

Region 7 - Ashfaq (Kash) Husain

Region 8 - Costas Stasopoulas

Region 9 - Teofilo Ramos

Region 10 - Byung-Gook Park (BG Park)


2020 Sections Congress Committee Members

General Chair - Loretta Arellano (R6)

Program Chair - Christopher Whitt (R7) 

Local Organization Chair - Winnie Ye (R7)

Fundraising Chair - Tom Coughlin (R6)

GUOS Chair - Ron Jensen (R4)

Past Committee Chair - Vaughan Clarkson (R10)

Vice President – MGA - Francis Grosz (R5)

Host Region Director-Elect - Jason Gu (R7)

Cecelia Jankowski - MGA Secretary


If you have any questions, please contact