The IEEE Educational Activities Board (EAB) is seeking nominations for its prestigious annual awards, which recognize major contributions to engineering and technical education. The deadline for submitting a nomination is 6 May 2019. Nominations are sought for the following awards:
EAB Awards:
· Meritorious Achievement Award in Accreditation Activities
· Meritorious Achievement Award in Continuing Education                    
· Meritorious Achievement Award in Outreach and Informal Education 
· Major Educational Innovation Award   
· Meritorious Achievement Award in Pre-University Education 

From 21 December 2018 through 31 January 2019, the IEEE Humanitarian Activities Committee (HAC) is soliciting proposals to support Sustainable Development and Humanitarian Technology initiatives that align with the IEEE Board-endorsed vision of IEEE volunteers carrying out and/or supporting impactful humanitarian activities at the local level. HAC provides multiple opportunities for IEEE individuals and organizational units (OUs) to apply for and receive funding for projects, events, and conference participation support. 

You can help recognize the efforts of outstanding volunteers by nominating individuals for one of the prestigious IEEE Member and Geographic Activities (MGA) Awards.  Each award has a unique mission and criteria and offers the opportunity to honor distinguished colleagues, inspiring teachers, and corporate leaders.

If you know someone who has made substantial regional IEEE volunteer contributions through innovative projects, exemplary leadership, service, or by fulfilling the goals as related to transnational activities, consider nominating them for one of the following awards:

There is a sharp increase in the sophistication and frequency of attempts to defraud executives, those with influence, and individuals with authority to approve payments or purchases. Most of these losses are not covered under existing cyber insurance policies. These attempts are known as business email compromise (BEC). The most common ones are requests for a wire transfer for vendor payment, purchase of gift cards, and urgent requests such as processing invoices.  

These requests will appear as coming from someone known to the recipient, which could be a legitimate vendor, a bank representative, a staff member or a volunteer. For IEEE the most targeted recipients of these emails are the CFO and his staff, all treasurers, and other staff or volunteers with approval authority. As a not for profit organization, information on our staff and volunteers are readily available online.

Would be scammers use spoofed email addresses and sometimes use compromised email accounts that will appear to the recipient as a legitimate email and the recipient may not doubt the validity of the request.

The awards and recognition program of the Member and Geographic Activities Board (MGA) is designed to promote, recognize, and reward excellence in the MGA operations and IEEE geographic unit activities (Regions, geographic Councils and Areas, Sections, Chapters, Student Branches, and Student Branch Chapters).  

MGA is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2018 MGA Outstanding Large and Small Section Awards, William W. Middleton Distinguished Service Award and Friend of IEEE MGA Award. 

MGA William W. Middleton Distinguished Service Award was awarded to:

Marc T. Apter, (R2), Alexandria, VA, USA

For lifelong, selfless leadership in contributing to the attainment of MGA's strategic goals and for inspiring others to be engaged with IEEE.

Previous MGA William W. Middleton Distinguished Service Award recipients 

Xtreme12 color for ct

IEEEXtreme is IEEE’s premier programming competition, bringing thousands of students from around the world together into a 24-hour event.  Open to all undergraduate and graduate college students with an active IEEE student membership.  The competition is hosted virtually and simultaneously around the world. Competitors are required to be proctored by a local IEEE professional member and are often supported by a local IEEE Student Branch.

Nominations are due 15 January annually for the IEEE Technical Field Awards (TFA) and the IEEE Eric Herz Outstanding Staff Member Award.  IEEE TFAs are awarded for contributions to or leadership in a specific field of interest of the IEEE and are among the highest awards presented on behalf of the IEEE Board of Directors.  They are narrower in scope than IEEE Medals.  The IEEE Herz Award recognizes sustained contributions by a present or past full-time staff member of the IEEE with at least ten years of service.